SOCIAL CITY NETWORKING interviews: Dala // SOCIAL in the CITY – VANCOUVER FOLK MUSIC FESTIVAL 2012, VANCOUVER //

Social City Networking has had the privilege to connect and collaborate with some pretty inspiring and amazing organizations and individuals. With our focus being COMMUNITY, we provide opportunity to expand your personal and professional networks by providing continuous up to date information about interesting events, causes, organizations and businesses in YOUR CITY. It has been our great pleasure to attend and experienceVancouver Folk Music Festival in Vancouver BC., where Canadian band Dala  performed amongst notable musicians such as Lucinda Williams, The Head and The Heart, The Barr Brothers, and Ani DiFranco.

(L-R) Social City Networking: SOCIAL in the CITY rep Sara Rose McKenna with Amanda Walther and Sheila Carabine of DALA. Official Social City Networking Photo – All Rights Reserved. Photography: Tammy Maltese Photography

As soon as I first heard the songbirds echoing through the festival grounds I immediately developed a personal interest in the Canadian band Dala. Their harmonization and lyrics connected with my inner summer love, and I could overhear that the other concert-goers were falling in love with them just as hard as I was.

As soon as the Dala girls entered the media tent, I could tell I was going to like them immediately. They were so easy-going, down to earth, and genuine. I could already see the that these ladies had some interesting and valuable things to share – and I was ready to get down to it!

I had the privilege to connect with Sheila Carabine (Vocals/Guitar) and Amanda Walther(Vocals/Guitar) of Dala to find out more about what inspires them, and what community and being SOCIAL in our CITY means to them:

(L-R) Amanda Walther of DALA, Social City Networking: SOCIAL in the CITY rep Sara Rose McKenna and Sheila Carabine of DALA. Official Social City Networking Photo – All Rights Reserved. Photography: Lindsay Henwood Photography

SC: Social City is all about supporting and creating community, so we want to know – What does community mean to you in one word?

DALA (Amanda): Wow, That’s the toughest question I’ve ever been asked, haha!

DALA (Sheila): Vital

DALA (Amanda): Food

 

SC: What is some advice you could give to young community leaders who are trying to step into their passions and don’t necessarily believe in themselves or that they’re capable?

DALA (Amanda): I think everyone feels that way. No matter how old you are, there’s always something about yourself that you’re nervous about or you think that people won’t understand, appreciate or like. And I think that’s actually what connects all of us together – it’s funny, I think the thing that we’re most afraid of is the thing that gives us the strength to do those hard things.

DALA (Sheila): It’s like in performing on stage, when you make a mistake; we were so afraid at first, but then we started to use them to break the ice and to connect us to the audience. If you point out the elephant in the room, like ‘oh, i just dropped my guitar’, its way better to laugh at it together. Our flaws unite us!

SC: We’re all human at the end of the day, we all messed up, or get a little nervous or awkward; it’s acknowledging that it’s HUMAN and being ok with it that is important.

 DALA (Sheila): Yes, I think we all have a degree of social anxiety. When you go to a party, there’s always ice to break. The best thing to do is to be the person to introduce yourself first, cause everyone’s waiting for that. So that’s been a little thing I’ve learned, especially through folk festivals cause were always meeting new people. I used to be the person who waited for people to talk to me, and you miss out on life if you’re waiting.

SC: So what you’re saying is,  go for it?

 DALA (Sheila): Yes, exactly like Nike said – just do it!

SC: What is your socially conscious contribution to your community?

DALA (Sheila): Well there’s so much more I could do and I think everyone feels like that. I feel it’s like what we do musically – we try to bring joy into the lives of the people around us. And that’s a really small thing. I think we both have homework to do… I know Amanda has her green bin.

DALA (Amanda): Haha, well I try to do small things at a time, there are so many other things I wish I was doing. I try to focus on little tiny things I can do in my life such as using reusable handkerchiefs instead of tissues, or ordering a bin of local organic food every two weeks – it just gets us eating healthy, and we are investing our money in the things that we believe in regardless of what our income is. Those little things make a big difference, I truly believe that. You must start with yourself, then your house, then your family, then your immediate neighborhood and then your larger community.

SC: We can definitely connect with that!

DALA (Sheila): yes, inspiring!

SC: I love how personable you both are; very genuine and engaging… I really appreciate that you both have taken the time to chat with me.

 DALA (Sheila): We totally appreciate the opportunity to chat, so thank you!

SC: That is what is really important about community – encouraging that dialogue, connecting people!

 DALA (Both): Absolutely!

SC: So one more question: what are your top three places to be social in?

 DALA (Sheila): Not the internet! haha

DALA (Amanda): My family; most comfortable with them, so warm and comfortable being social and crazy.

DALA (Sheila):  I love going to the movies, funny movies, with my friends. We used to go with 10 of us to movies like old school and just laugh… Amanda and I bonded over our same sense of humor when we first started writing together. And I think also having friends that know you before you start writing music is important keep you grounded.

Writer: Sara Rose McKenna
t: @smckennaSC

Translator from Audio to text: Helena Bryn-McLeod

Social City Networking INC.: SOCIAL in the CITY 2012

 

Official Social City Networking article – All Rights Reserved.
Leave a Reply

