SOCIAL CITY NETWORKING interviews: Leap Of Life Inspirations

Social City Networking has had the privilege to work and collaborate with some pretty inspiring and amazing organizations. One of these mention worthy organizations is LEAP OF LIFE INSPIRATIONS. Lindsay Henwood (Founder of Leap Of Life) is the backbone of this movement. Leap of Life’s mission statement is: We are about collectively inspiring youth and Generation Y’s to step into their true selves and take action on what they really care about; reaching out through different aspects of culture and using self-expression as a guide. (Check them out at: http://www.leapoflifeinspirations.wordpress.com  – And on Facebook: Leap Of Life Inspirations)

We sat down with her to find out more about what inspires her, and what community and being SOCIAL in our CITY means to her:

Lindsay Henwood of Leap Of Life Inspirations

SC: What does Social Networking mean to you?

Lindsay: Social Networking means to me a channel of sharing stories and through that expand horizons as a collective. It’s a great way to get out there and create a tribe of like-minded and like-hearted people who gather together to coerce change among our society.

SC: What is a personal experience you’ve had where Social Networking benefited you?

Lindsay: If it weren’t for social networking I wouldn’t be surrounded by the people I have in my life today and I wouldn’t be where I’m at with Leap of Life Inspirations. It naturally connected me with great people who I’m now working together with to create something great. I love meeting new people and hearing their stories!!

SC: What is some advice that you can give to social networkers out there?

Lindsay: Push yourself to talk to people and ask them their story. Share with them yours as well and doors will open when they’re supposed to! Be open to receiving great information and advice.

SC: What does community mean to you?

Lindsay: Community to me is a collective of like-hearted people who come together to share stories, their passions, support and possibilities. It’s essentially a tribe full of different minds, but together create a perfect balance in perspective. One person can be a part of different communities, but always keeps the same heart-set/mind-set. Community means family, friendship, support, love, and togetherness. It’s what you need to create a movement.

SCWhat does community bring in to your life?

Lindsay: Community is a place of love, belonging, honesty, trust, encouragement and support of development of self. I finally feel like I’ve manifested the community/-ies that I’ve been working on attracting into my life. I’ve never been able to have the conversations with friends like I am able to now and it is such a relief. I finally feel like I can communicate and be understood. It’s a nice feeling!

SCWhat is your socially conscious contribution to your community?

Lindsay: My socially conscious contribution to my community is giving the space for people to liberate their thoughts and emotions without having the fear of judgment and knowing that I come from a place of support and understanding. I also love to connect people to communities that I know they will belong and love.

Leap of Life Inspirations makes a serious effort to keep our ties socially conscious and that we are aware of the social impact every decision of ours has on our community. We aren’t at the stage yet, but we plan to donate 20% of our profit to local and socially conscious organizations. And we also work with companies who believe in maintaining a strong platform of social consciousness within their communities. We aim to support and facilitate others who may not be at that stage yet as well.

SC: At what point in your life did you take that first leap in to your social life?

Lindsay: I remember this extremely well! I used to be a very shy person, I had a social life but it didn’t branch out very far. Traveling definitely helped me break out of that and helped me step into myself more. It revealed to me the beauty within myself that I shouldn’t be afraid of sharing with others. When I came home I set out to attract the people that I wanted to have in my life. I started meeting new people and eventually I became more confident with reaching out to people I figured I would get along with really well and who had the same type of values. Once I started hanging out with these people it sort of snowballed and together we quickly formed an amazing community or “tribe” of sorts. We are now family and what I might call pseudo soul mates. The first leap was definitely having the confidence of essentially cold-calling people that I really wanted to have in my life. Then naturally, the people I wanted to attract into my life naturally started flowing in.

 

Social City Networking INC.

Official Social City Networking Article – All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

