SOCIAL CITY NETWORKING interviews: Allison Braun, THE BEDROOM JOYOLOGIST // SOCIAL in the CITY – Fearless Freedom Summit, Vancouver //

Social City Networking is all about COMMUNITY, and encouraging members of each community to become more engaged positively in theirs! We encourage people to become community leaders, and that they are capable of anything – that networking and connecting to like-minded individuals positively contribute to both personal and professional aspects of your life! We had the incredible opportunity to support and partner with the Fearless Freedom Summit in Vancouver, featuring incredible and inspiring speakers and women. Allison Braun (The Bedroom Joyologist) can be looked at as a form of inspiration to people, and we felt that sharing her personal story and advice, as it could help people realize their own potential and capabilities!

smallbiopic

SC: Describe what community means to you in one word:

Allison: I’ve never been good at picking just one… so can I get two?? Connection & Oneness

SC: Why are you participating in the upcoming Fearless Freedom Summit? (What about it spoke to you?)

Allison: I really agree with Nicki’s view of respecting and acknowledging fear so we can learn how to move through it vs. try to make it go away or push it down OR let it stop is completely like it often does. Fear is a huge part of our lives just like sexuality and it just so happens that there tends to be A LOT of fear around sexuality. Like all of us I have experienced fear, I have let it stop me (and still do sometimes) but now for the most part I embrace it. All in all I believe it’s a super important topic to talk about and get really comfortable with.

SC: What about Vancouver attracted you to become engaged positively in the community, and how do you feel being engaged benefits the community?

Allison: I am not originally from Vancouver and I have to say that I was lucky enough to be welcomed into an amazing community of women – immediately I felt more at home here than I ever had. I, like many of us, long to feel connected and a part of something – so having community is very important to me (and something I didn’t really feel a part of most of my life). Being engaged in a community benefits all by bringing about feelings of support, connection and strength. Together we are stronger than alone. By engaging in the community we can inspire each other and share our gifts.

SC: What is the story behind The Bedroom Joyologist inspired from, and what is it all about?

Allison: In my journey to finding my purpose I found myself in a community of women which I felt like I could totally be myself around. It was that group of women that dubbed me The Bedroom Joyologist. In addition to that it was inspired from a mix of innate knowing and natural gifts, personal experiences and training. I (The Bedroom Joyologist) am all about full self-expression, sexuality and all, and freedom from guilt, shame, obligation, and fear.

SC: What is one major lesson/learning you are taking away from your journey so far as The Bedroom Joyologist?

Allison: There has been so many. One major lesson has been around commitment and taking action. It has always been easy for me to learn but I think that in the past fear has held me back from sharing and taking action on what I learn. In my work as The Bedroom Joyologist there is no room for that. A past coach once told me that it was selfish and greedy for me to not share my gifts and learnings. It was in the moment that I make a commitment to take action on my gifts and learnings and to share them – fear or not. It’s not just about me.

SC: Why is community important to you (personally)?

Allison: Without community I can feel isolated and I find it’s easier for me to get stuck. For me personally, to be completely honest, community just feels good. Feeling good is important to me as is helping others to feel good – community is an easy way to bring in joy and connection.

SC: In your own opinion, how would you encourage others to live more Fearlessly and Freely?

Allison: Get in touch with what you really want and why. It is your why that can propel you through the fear, without out that purpose, mission and drive it’s easy to get stuck when fear or limiting thoughts come up. When you have a clear desire and know why it’s important to you + support you can do anything. Fear won’t go away (it actually might get stronger) BUT you have the power to move through it.

SC: What is a personal experience you have had where social networking has benefited you in accomplishing your dreams and your goals?

Allison: A big goal/dream of mine is for my work and purpose to be fun, playful and connected – so social networking has been a very key element in supporting that goal.

SC: What is some advice that you would like to share to people out there?

Allison: Start to look at your sexuality as a part of who you are, as something that affects every area of your life. Imagine your sexuality as if it were your sense of smell – but your nose was completely plugged and you couldn’t smell anything. Then imagine what it would be like if all the sudden your nose cleared and you could smell everything at its full intensity. Your whole life would be different. The same thing applies to your sexuality. When your sexual energy is blocked or suppressed you can function in day-to-day life pretty well BUT when your are fully expressed in your sexuality and your sexual energy is flowing freely you become the best possible version of yourself you can be and you are able to live life more fully. Don’t let anything hold you back from that divine right.

SC: What are your and The Bedroom Joyologist’s socially conscious contributions to your community, and what inspired the idea behind them?

Allison: At the moment my favorites are supporting the Beauty Night Foundation (if you read about it you will totally understand why) and sharing free content weekly with my community which is a mix of insight, inspiration and action steps to keep them movin’ and groovin’.

Upcoming events/possible things to check out and share:

1. Pleasure Intensive Retreat (2 spots left) from Feb. 8-12 in Mexico. www.allisonbraun.com/pleasure-retreat
2. Free Women’s Quick Start Guide To Soul-Satisfying {Guilt-Free} Sex – always available at www.allisonbraun.com
3. Pussy Celebration – An evening of group discussion for women all about the different facets and fears around sex – first Tuesday of every month at Rhodes Wellness College. www.allisonbraun.com/workshops

Connect with Allison on Facebook here.

CoverPhoto-AllisonBraun-PleasureRetreat3CoverPhoto-AllisonBraun-PleasureRetreat1

Writer: Sara Rose McKenna
t: @smckennaSC
Editor: Krista McKenna
t: @kmckennaSC

Social City Networking INC.: SOCIAL in the CITY 2013Social City Networking INC.

One response to “SOCIAL CITY NETWORKING interviews: Allison Braun, THE BEDROOM JOYOLOGIST // SOCIAL in the CITY – Fearless Freedom Summit, Vancouver //

  1. Pingback: A SOCIAL in the CITY Experience: FEARLESS FREEDOM SUMMIT 2013 presented by Nicki Bullock of DARING TO LIVE // Written by guest-writer, Bianca Kempe | Social City Networking INC.·

Leave a Reply

