Interview with Genieve Burley // Wanderlust Whistler 2015

Meet GENIEVE BURLEY
A #SOCIALintheCITY at Wanderlust Whistler 2015 Interview

#SOCIALintheCITY Interview with GENIEVE BURLEY  // Wanderlust Whistler 2015

#SOCIALintheCITY Interview with GENIEVE BURLEY // Wanderlust Whistler 2015

Social City Networking INC. is ​about COMMUNITY, encouraging members of the community to become more engaged positively, as well as supporting the businesses and entrepreneurs that strive to create a positive contribution within it. We aim encourage our community to become community leaders, and that they are capable of anything. We believe that networking and connecting to like-­minded individuals positively contributes to both personal and professional aspects of life.

We are proud to have Wanderlust community influencer and instructor Genieve Burley of Health In Alignment share her story with us, and all of you!

About Genieve: Passionate about healthcare and wellness, Dr. Genieve Burley brings her expertise in anatomy to her yoga teaching, fusing scientific knowledge with ancient practices resulting in powerful evidence-based, holistic classes. Genieve is a Vancouver based chiropractor, yoga teacher and an international speaker and teacher training instructor. She has been practicing since 2001 and has been profoundly affected by the physical, emotional and spiritual benefits of yoga.Expect her classes to be infused with creative flow, nurturing alignment, core integration, therapeutic adjustments and sweet beats to dance with your breath.

Describe what community means to you in one word:

Sangha

Why do you do what you do? 

I love people and I believe that my path is to help them heal, have confidence in their bodies, to feel loved, to know movement and make the right connections. I have been involved in wellness since University as a personal trainer and spinning instructor and later as a chiropractor and yoga teacher. I am so blessed to have met so many people in my life through my work, and to have influenced their health in a positive way. I have had opportunities to travel around the world and share my passion for yoga through education and retreats. I truly love my job, I look forward to every day that I teach.

What are you passionate about? 

I am passionate about love and friendship, anatomy and education, travel, yoga, running and ballet.

#SOCIALintheCITY Interview with GENIEVE BURLEY  // Wanderlust Whistler 2015

#SOCIALintheCITY Interview with GENIEVE BURLEY // Wanderlust Whistler 2015


What about Wanderlust attracted you to become engaged positively in the festival, and how do you feel being engaged benefits the community?

This will be the fourth year I have attended Wanderlust. I have always shied away from events that involved big crowds and music, mostly because they usually involve drinking and often unhealthy behavior. Wanderlust is a departure from any of this, it is truly a gathering of like minded people who get together to practice yoga, to listen to music that elevates, to travel to cities that support nature and ecology and make beautiful friendships.
I have two daughters, Rhys 7 and Shyloh 5. When we first attend Wanderlust in Whistler Shyloh was a baby. I remember clearly bringing the girls to listen to Krishna Das and how mesmerized they were by the music and the crowd. It brought tears to my eyes, it was moving. It was an event for families, for all ages, for all people (and some dogs). It has been a dream of mine for 3 years to teach at the festival, and I feel so honored to be teaching 5 classes there this year. The festival engages the community, it brings life and art to the city of Whistler, it brings economy through tourism and because of the pure intention of the festival to create happiness, compassion and yoga it pulses its big energetic heart to the tendrils of not only Whistler, but Western Canada and Pacific United States.

Out of these three words, which one is your favorite and why? Collaborate, Cultivate, Create: 

That’s a hard pick. I love all of these words, but I would have to choose cultivate. Cultivate means to prepare, grow and maintain. We prepare to change the world by creating classes, music and events that inspire personal development, we grow by connecting with more people and by those students taking their kindness and compassion off the mat and into the world, we maintain by seeking more education, living authentically and continuing to teach the principles of yoga and meditation.

What is your passion inspired from, and what is it all about:

My passion is often inspired by the will and determination of the human spirit. I love to see how yoga, nature and meditation influence our health, our happiness and our relationships. My passion is expressed in the teacher training, retreats and classes that I lead. I am very excited about an upcoming retreat I am leading at Bodega Ridge on Galiano Island, BC. I can’t wait to immerse in the healing powers of yoga, the ocean, hikes, healthy food and campfires with an incredible group of people. More information can be found at: healthinalignment.bigcartel.com or bodegaridge.com

What is one major lesson/learning you are taking away from your entrepreneurial/dream achieving journey so far?

I think we have to step into the fire of fear to achieve our dreams. I had a really hard time with a post-partum depression after my first daughter. It was so hard to get through that I realized if I had the resilience to get through the depression I could do anything. I have since decided that I will follow my gut instinct, my
creative process and my intuition instead of being guided by fear of failure or the safest path. I opened my own chiropractic practice and I started leading retreats internationally, I have taught at dozens of teacher training. All of this was possible from following my dreams and being my own boss. And when things don’t work out they are life’s greatest lessons. You have to fall down to learn how to get back up.

Why is community important to you? How is it vital to you professionally?

Community is important to me personally because it is an outer ring of family. Community makes us feel connected where we live, where we work and with whom we socialize. I love the expression that it “takes a village to raise a child,” which I believe because our children grow up in a community and learn the
customs and traditions of that community. Community has a lot to do with the first chakra and how well we feel rooted in the place that we live. Community is VITAL to me professionally as a chiropractor and yoga teacher. Through language and communication in our community I receive referrals to my practice and to come to my classes. I wouldn’t have a job without community.

In your own opinion, how would you encourage others to live more socially engaged within our community?

There is a lot of resistance to use social media, which I understand on one hand, but on the other social media has enabled me to reach the far corners of the world in the same way it has enabled me to keep in contact with my friends from years back. Social media connects people, connects businesses and allows us to feel closer to each other.

What is a personal experience at Wanderlust where being social has benefited you in accomplishing your dreams and your goals?

Being social at Wanderlust has connected me to incredible people who I have been able to collaborate with on future projects.

What is some advice that you would like to share to people out there when it comes to following their dreams? 

I would like to share that our natural tendency is to resist our dreams and to focus on what can fail. We are unconsciously coached to follow the mold in school and education and get a job where you work for someone else, which is perfectly good. But without risk there cannot be great reward, and the most successful people follow their good ideas, no matter what resistance comes up.

What is your favorite ways/places/classes to get SOCIAL at Wanderlust, and why? 

Some of the most magical moments at Wanderlust are the “spaces between.” Meeting people for tea between classes, running into people in the village, meeting people at parties and farm to table dinners. There are so many people moving about from class to class and to music and in common areas, it’s my favorite part.

How do you feel young dream achievers can benefit from social within the community?

Being social in the community is vital. It’s not possible to cultivate a business or idea without the support of the community. I feel that it is essential to be social locally, in business groups, sports, clubs and organizations. Life is about showing up.

How do you feel young dream achievers can benefit from being social online?

Being social online is also vital. We live in a technological time period where the internet is the hub of information. Being regular on social media and online indicates that you are connected, contemporary and current. It also allows us to show our true nature through pictures and words, which enables others to know us better.

Find out more about Genieve and what she’s up to here:

Website : www.genieveburley.com
www.healthinalignment.bigcartel.com
Instagram: @genieveyoga
Twitter: @DrGenieveBurley

Join the #SOCIALintheCITY #WANDERtribe at Wanderlust Whistler this summer! // The #FindYourTrueNorth Countdown BEGINS!

Join the #SOCIALintheCITY #WANDERtribe at Wanderlust Whistler this summer! // The #FindYourTrueNorth Countdown BEGINS!

Join Genieve and our #SOCIALintheCITY WANDERtribe at Wanderlust Whistler! Regardless of what starts you on your path, Wanderlust is an experience that will leave you different than when you came — with new ideas, new friends, newly-discovered abilities, and greater peace. Trust us, and join us in getting #SOCIALintheCITY + #FindYourTrueNorth.

Share you SOCIAL experiences at#WanderlustFest with us – use the hashtag #SOCIALintheCITY in your post, and we’ll re-post!

1233099_580625055316662_415640806_o

Social City Networking INC. – For all things SOCIAL in your CITY.

Editor: Sara Rose McKenna, @smckennaSC
Created By: Sara Rose McKenna, @smckennaSC 

Follow us on Twitter: @socialcitynetwo #SOCIALintheCITY
See us on Instagram: @socialcitynetworking #SOCIALintheCITY

Social City Networking INC.: SOCIAL in the CITY 2015

One response to “Interview with Genieve Burley // Wanderlust Whistler 2015

  1. Pingback: Your SOCIAL CALENDAR for OCTOBER 2015 // #SOCIALintheCITY – Vancouver // | Social City Networking INC.·

Leave a Reply

