Interview with CAROLYN BUDGELL // WANDERLUST WHISTLER 2015

Meet CAROLYN ANNE BUDGELL
A #SOCIALintheCITY at Wanderlust Whistler 2015 Interview

#SOCIALintheCITY Interview with CAROLYN BUDGELL // WANDERLUST WHISTLER 2015 #Wanderlust2015

#SOCIALintheCITY Interview with CAROLYN BUDGELL // WANDERLUST WHISTLER 2015 #Wanderlust2015

Social City Networking INC. is ​about COMMUNITY, encouraging members of the community to become more engaged positively, as well as supporting the businesses and entrepreneurs that strive to create a positive contribution within it. We aim encourage our community to become community leaders, and that they are capable of anything. We believe that networking and connecting to like-­minded individuals positively contributes to both personal and professional aspects of life.

We are proud to have local Wanderlust community influencer and instructor Carolyn Budgell share her story with us, and all of you!

About Carolyn: Yoga surprised Carolyn as a ski bum in Whistler ‘99 at the unaware age of 19. It initially provided agility for her snowboarding, skateboarding and trail running. Now, as a teacher in Vancouver, she continually learns how to connect with others and feel at home in one’s skin. The magic of yoga surprisingly grows quieter-towards a place where the physical, the internal, the spectacle and the witness are all one.

Carolyn’s past life was outdoors, in environmental restoration. Since completing her first 200 hour YTT in 2008, she has an extensive CV: as a contributing writer for My Yoga Online, filming videos with lululemon and Mala Collective,  as an educator for international Teacher Training with Lila Vinyasa School of Yoga and Semperviva Yoga, managing yoga studios and guiding students through the mind blowing practice of just being while in silent meditation intensives. She has previously assisted at two Wanderlust Festivals and completed the Kula Yoga Project 75 hour advanced training in CT. Carolyn’s vinyasa classes are chock-full of unique alignment cues, smart sequencing, some careful touch and some touchy jokes to which she pays gratitude to Schuyler Grant, Ana Forrest and Clara Roberts-Oss.  Her passion for silent meditation in forests is thanks to Adyashanti and Michelle St Pierre.

#SOCIALintheCITY Interview with CAROLYN BUDGELL // WANDERLUST WHISTLER 2015 #Wanderlust2015

#SOCIALintheCITY Interview with CAROLYN BUDGELL // WANDERLUST WHISTLER 2015 #Wanderlust2015

Describe what community means to you in one word:

Support.

Why do you do what you do? 

I teach yoga and meditation (basically survival skills in a hectic world) because it’s one of the only things in my life I have NEVER doubted (both as a teacher and a student). Of course, I experience phases of questioning and re-evaluating my rate of growth/success but, deep within on an instinctual level, I have always known this is right where I should be. Lucky me to have discovered it when I was only 19! The trickle down effect of following my gut and heart in this line of work is overwhelming – The more time I spend teaching in new settings or for very large classes, the more inspired I feel to continue improving how I think, how I communicate and how I engage with others in all parts of my life. All students, friends, strangers are very strong mirrors for us if we are willing to really see that. All situations are opportunities that can reflect back what needs to change within. It’s not always pretty or easy but when I take time to do the work of reflection and pattern shifting, I have so much more to offer in my classes! Thus, I benefit from this journey as do those around me. Never in my wildest dreams did I think I’d long for this road of self-help but after much healing and many ‘aha‘s through teaching, I see that anything is possible for anyone! You will always get this message in my classes – change is always possible. That is my practice and I hope that we all embrace it to create a better and healthier world.

What are you passionate about? 

I am passionate about pausing in meditation to look at the mind. I am passionate about spending time with people who are honest, real and who work hard to share exactly who they are with the world. I am passionate about helping others realize that they can grow and change. I am passionate about working with creative individuals and small business owners who want to bring beauty and amazing ideas into fruition. I am passionate about spending time in the outdoors and appreciating all aspects of mother nature. I am passionate about reflecting slowness, patience and calm towards others when it feels very difficult! I am passionate about movement, sweating, flowing, and working my muscles.

#SOCIALintheCITY Interview with CAROLYN BUDGELL // WANDERLUST WHISTLER 2015 #Wanderlust2015

#SOCIALintheCITY Interview with CAROLYN BUDGELL // WANDERLUST WHISTLER 2015 #Wanderlust2015


What about Vancouver attracted you to become engaged positively in the city, and how do you feel being engaged benefits the community?

Vancouver is a wonderful place to live for someone like me, who loves being in the mountains, the ocean and smaller urban centers. Along with that, Vancouver is buzzing with passionate entrepreneurs who are working their butts off to do what they love. I am also inspired by all the athletes who congregate here and because it is such a small city, the effects of my meditation/yoga work can be observed in many different communities almost immediately.

Truthfully, I initially wanted to be involved in the yoga community because I was really struggling in my own life and thought “Wow! Yoga teachers really have it all together!” I wanted to be perfect and healthy and cool just like the community teachers I looked up to. That glass castle shattered fairly quickly and all for the best! We simply have to start where we are and if we portray an honest and authentic image of what we are experiencing, the community can really learn from us. And vice versa. Because that’s what community is right? Not a dictatorship of a leader standing on a pedestal shouting demands but it’s a collaboration, a sharing and a receiving. I feel I benefit just as much as the people around me when we all show up to class or to meditate or to tough stuff. I hope that the communities that I engage with see this, that everyone’s contribution is very important and their honesty will inevitably impact others, whether it’s visible or not.

What about Wanderlust attracted you to participate and how do you feel it benefits the community?

I’ve been either attending or teaching at Wanderlust festivals for 4 years now. What encouraged me initially to engage was the opportunity to learn from such a diverse range of inspiring leaders and that has not changed. Wanderlust benefits many communities because there is such a smorgasbord of classes/lectures/activities to choose from. And to those who do not participate in or support the festival, they are driven to create their own events and festivals to support other communities of yogis, which I think is equally as amazing.

Out of these three words, which one is your favorite and why? Collaborate, Cultivate, Create: 

Right now: CREATE. In the past, the idea of creation or being creative was really scary. I’ve never felt artistic enough until I turned that sentiment on its head and began looking for all the ways in which I do feed my soul… I realized creativity is all around me and within! When we show up to a yoga class, everyone in that room creates an experience together… when we say “I don’t know” we are creating space for new knowledge and insight, for someone else to teach us, when we sit with a box of crafts and a few hours to spare, we can create art and get lost in a world without rules or authority.
With that expansive perspective and a lot of positive reinforcement from a few individuals in my life – I’ve been working for 5 years now to create what I’ve just named calm rebel community: meditation for everyone.

And this creation has gone hand in hand with collaboration and cultivation: I’ve worked with numerous people, businesses and yoga studios to offer all types of meditation events, I’ve cultivated wonderful friendships and working relationships with many students and loyal supporters and so on and so on.
It all ebbs and flows in phases. Collaboration and cultivation and still at the forefront of my intentions and my daily operations but right now I’m stoked on how powerful it is to create and put out into the world these stirrings and inklings of our passions that lie within all of us.

#SOCIALintheCITY Interview with CAROLYN BUDGELL // WANDERLUST WHISTLER 2015 #Wanderlust2015

What is your passion inspired from, and what is it all about:

I am excited to find a home for my meditation community- calm rebel. I’ve been leading meditation classes / sessions / journeys of self-discovery in and around Vancouver since 2010 and there is a huge demand for more offerings and classes in a bigger space. We all need to pause and listen to the wisdom and intelligence within, particularly in the face of social media, which demands so much of our time and overruns our thought processes. If I can offer more meditation classes to all levels of practitioners and tailor classes to whatever their needs might be, then perhaps more people will feel empowered and supported to live the lives they are passionate about.

Instagram: @calmrebelcommunity

Why is community important to you? How is it vital to you professionally?

Community is important to me because it’s what propels growth and learning and momentum! I’m also very excited by it because I spent years of my life in the dark, not understanding or appreciating community. I thought I could go through life without mentors, without admitting my faults, fighting with myself. But through support and community we realize we are not alone and that we can stand strong for each other. It’s a great relief and it’s one of the most simple truths – we are all one, we go through similar emotions and heartaches. I hope we all find our community or bring our favorite people together to create one and feel how life become much more fulfilling.

In your own opinion, how would you encourage others to live more socially engaged within our community?

Ask a lot of questions, spend time with people who know that they do not have all the answers and admit they are still learning, join groups that are benefiting the quality of life for all individuals. Work with people who have different skill sets from you.

What is some advice that you would like to share to people out there when it comes to following their dreams? 

Remember there is no end goal. Once you think you have reached a goal, aim higher and keep moving.  Keep people around who ask you challenging questions and who motivate you to think outside the box of ‘goal’.

What is one major lesson/learning you are taking away from Wanderlust, as well as your experience involved in it?

One takeaway from Wanderlust is that we must keep riding the wave of excitement and energy after the festival is over to create change in our own lives and the lives of others. Let’s bring all that joy and new insights into our communities outside of the festival – however different that may look for all of us.

#SOCIALintheCITY Interview with CAROLYN BUDGELL // WANDERLUST WHISTLER 2015 #Wanderlust2015

Find out more about Carolyn and what she’s up to here:

Website : www.carolynannebudgell.com
Instagram: @carolynannebudgie

Join the #SOCIALintheCITY #WANDERtribe at Wanderlust Whistler this summer! // The #FindYourTrueNorth Countdown BEGINS!

Join the #SOCIALintheCITY #WANDERtribe at Wanderlust Whistler this summer! // The #FindYourTrueNorth Countdown BEGINS!

Join Carolyn and our #SOCIALintheCITY WANDERtribe at Wanderlust Whistler! Regardless of what starts you on your path, Wanderlust is an experience that will leave you different than when you came — with new ideas, new friends, newly-discovered abilities, and greater peace. Trust us, and join us in getting #SOCIALintheCITY + #FindYourTrueNorth.

Share you SOCIAL experiences at#WanderlustFest with us – use the hashtag #SOCIALintheCITY in your post, and we’ll re-post!

1233099_580625055316662_415640806_o

Social City Networking INC. – For all things SOCIAL in your CITY.

Editor: Sara Rose McKenna, @smckennaSC
Created By: Sara Rose McKenna, @smckennaSC 

Follow us on Twitter: @socialcitynetwo #SOCIALintheCITY
See us on Instagram: @socialcitynetworking #SOCIALintheCITY

Social City Networking INC.: SOCIAL in the CITY 2015

One response to “Interview with CAROLYN BUDGELL // WANDERLUST WHISTLER 2015

  1. Pingback: Reflections from Wanderlust Whistler – My First Yoga Festival // Written by Jeremy Vaughan | Social City Networking INC.·

Leave a Reply

