CONNECTION // Top 3 Moments from Saturday, Day 3 of ‪#‎WANDERtribe‬ at Wanderlust Whistler 2015 // Written by Mara Falstein

Top 3 Moments from Day 3 of #WANDERtribe at Wanderlust Whistler 2015
Saturday // Theme for the day: Connection

by Mara Falstein

Top 3 Moments from Day 3 of #WANDERtribe at Wanderlust Whistler 2015 Saturday // Theme for the day: Connection // Written by Mara Falstein

photo: Megan Kathleen Photography, Wanderlust Festival

Top Moment 1: Lost Lake Hike
Given that it was only my second time ever in Whistler, I wanted to fit in at least one hike during my Wanderlust adventures. I decided that a hike out to lost lake and a quick wade in the water was the perfect way to start day 3 of my Wanderlust adventures. Signing up for a hike solo was a little intimidating for me, but I figured it would be a good challenge to step outside of my comfort zone. I made it a point to start conversation with strangers and ended up engaged in conversation with a few lovely people for most of the hike. It was a mellow walk out to a beautiful lake nestled in on all sides by high trees. We spent 20 minutes kicking off our shoes, rolling up our yoga pants and wading into the cool water, a refreshing reward for our feet sore from all of the downward dogs and dance parties. On our way back, we took a more scenic route through the middle of the forest before returning back to Whistler village in time for me to run back to the apartment and grab my yoga mat for my next class.
Top 3 Moments from Day 3 of #WANDERtribe at Wanderlust Whistler 2015 Saturday // Theme for the day: Connection // Written by Mara Falstein

photo: Megan Kathleen Photography, Wanderlust Festival

Top 3 Moments from Day 3 of #WANDERtribe at Wanderlust Whistler 2015 Saturday // Theme for the day: Connection // Written by Mara Falstein

photo: Megan Kathleen Photography, Wanderlust Festival

Top Moment 2: Detox Flow with Seane Corn
I’d been looking forward to trying out a class with Seane Corn for quite a while. I’d heard great things from my fellow yogis up and down the west coast. The class I ended up taking was Detox flow, a class designed to stimulate your internal organs and aid in digestion. I thought back and forth about whether or not to include this class on my list because in a lot of ways it was in fact one of my least favourite classes of Wanderlust; however, it was memorable and I felt it important to explore the truth that it’s not all sunshine and rainbows at camp wanderlust. I found detox flow to be very rigorous, a bit too fast-paced for me, and Seane Corn came off as too preachy/culty for me personally. I often struggle in yoga to engage with teachers who are too far on the spirituality spectrum or who feel a bit too much like carefully crafted spiritual leaders. I like to think of my yoga teachers as humans with their own flaws and problems, not as someone who seems like they have absolutely everything figured out. I left this class in a bit of a daze, as it brought up lots of important questions for me about authenticity, my yoga practice, and how we form community around a mutual passion for yoga.
Top 3 Moments from Day 3 of #WANDERtribe at Wanderlust Whistler 2015 Saturday // Theme for the day: Connection // Written by Mara Falstein

photo: Megan Kathleen Photography, Wanderlust Festival

Top 3 Moments from Day 3 of #WANDERtribe at Wanderlust Whistler 2015 Saturday // Theme for the day: Connection // Written by Mara Falstein

photo: Megan Kathleen Photography, Wanderlust Festival

Top Moment 3: Yoga for the Modern Woman with Ally Maz
At the opposite end of the spectrum in regards to tone, my second yoga class of the day was one of my favorite of the entire Wanderlust experience largely because I went into the class with little to no expectations. What I was met with was about 45 minutes of straight up real talk by Alex Mazerolle (also known as Ally Maz) followed by a super chill, listen to your body and flow style practice. Ally Maz led us through an incredibly authentic and vulnerable lecture about the journey that first led her to yoga, to her epiphany moment when she realized her life’s purpose would be teaching yoga to teen girls (and so Girlvana Yoga was born) and through her her learnings in recent years as Girlvana has evolved, Ladyvana retreats started, and she finally co-founded her latest entrepreneurial adventure—a fitness studio in North Vancouver (that’s the Distrikt, for those of you who have never been). If I were to distill a thesis for the event, it would be that we owe it to ourselves and those around us to communicate in a real and authentic way. We need to show each other that we’re not alone, dispelling our shame around unworthiness through voicing those fears. This is especially important as women helping the next generation of girls learn how to grow into women as they look to us as examples.
Top 3 Moments from Day 3 of #WANDERtribe at Wanderlust Whistler 2015 Saturday // Theme for the day: Connection // Written by Mara Falstein

Photo: Megan Kathleen Photography, Wanderlust Festival

Find out more about Mara and what she’s up to here:

Instagram : @marafalst
twitter : @marasfn
#SOCIALintheCITY’s #WANDERtribe + #FindYourTrueNorth.
Leave a Reply

